Where can I travel now? The destinations exempt from quarantine

Updated December 21, 2020
(Published July 3, 2020)

Please note: Travel is once again limited as much of the UK enters Tier/Level 3 or higher restrictions. You should only go abroad for limited reasons, such as for work. Different rules may apply for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, so it’s important you stay ahead of the updates for your home country.

The UK government has scrapped quarantine requirements for travellers arriving home from a number of countries (see table below).

The list of countries is under regular review. Since the initial release on July 3, 2020, a number of changes have been made. For example, the Canary Islands were added to the list on October 25, but were removed again on December 12. It follows the removal of other popular holiday destinations, such as mainland Spain, France, Cyprus and Turkey. Travellers returning home from destinations no longer on the list will need to self-isolate for ten days.

Keep in mind that although the government is using the term ‘travel corridors’ for the quarantine-exemption list, no reciprocal arrangements have been agreed. Many countries on the list, such as Australia and New Zealand, are closed to visitors, while others (including South Korea) will still enforce a quarantine on arrival. It means travellers can visit just one destination without needing to provide a negative Covid-19 test result to enter or quarantine on arrival or return home.

It’s also important to remember that the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) could still advise against “all but essential travel” to some countries on the travel corridors list. Travellers should always check government travel advice for both their destination and home country before they travel. In addition, travellers arriving in the UK will need to provide a passenger locator form before they return.

Note that travellers returning from the Common Travel Area (that’s Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man) and 13 of the British Overseas Territories are also exempt from quarantine.

* This is a fast-moving situation and things can change quickly. We are updating this guide frequently, but if you have any questions please get in touch with us on Twitter or Facebook.

Countries exempt from quarantine


Travellers entering the UK from the countries and territories listed in the table below will not need to self-isolate.




Antigua and Barbuda


Pacific Islands (Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Vanuatu)



Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands


Greek islands of Corfu, Crete, Kos, Rhodes and Zakynthos







Saudi Arabia


Hong Kong







South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

Bonaire/St Eustatius/Saba

Isle of Man

South Korea


Israel and Jerusalem

Sri Lanka

British Antarctic Territory


St Barthélemy

British Indian Ocean Territory


St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

British Virgin Islands

Macao (Macau)

St Kitts and Nevis



St Lucia



St Pierre and Miquelon

Cayman Islands


St Vincent and the Grenadines

Channel Islands










New Caledonia

Turks and Caicos Islands

Falkland Islands

New Zealand

United Arab Emirates

Faroe Islands

Northern Mariana Islands


Stay up to date with quarantine-free destinations for your country here:

Countries without local quarantines


Only Gibraltar has also removed mandatory quarantines for British travellers. However, many other countries and islands, such as the Maldives, Madeira and the Azores, and St Lucia, will allow travellers to enter with a Covid-19 negative PCR test result. Check the FCDO advice for your chosen destination before you travel and find out more about PCR tests.

In addition, many countries have a number of social distancing requirements for residents and visitors alike. This can include wearing masks on public transport and at indoor attractions, keeping a one- to two-metre physical distance while out and about and pre-booking for museums or beaches.

Masks are generally required on all flights and at airports. Before you travel, check the requirements for your country; we recommend looking at both the FCDO website and government website for that country to get a comprehensive view of any travel requirements.

You may also need to look into any regional lockdowns your destination has in place, as they may change if an outbreak of Covid-19 occurs.

Do you need to self-isolate if you transit through a country that is not on the travel corridors list?

Generally, you will need to self-isolate if you make a transit stop in a country, territory or region that is not on the travel corridors list. This applies if:

However, you may be exempt from this requirement if during your transit stop:

This guidance applies to travel via coaches, ferries, trains and flights. Private vehicles have similar rules. Find out more on the government website here.

Have a comment or question about this article? You can contact us on Twitter or Facebook.

Latest travel tips and advice

Read more from the blog